PS7E: About Us: Our Staff

Post

Leadership

Kari Wehrly
Principal
Kwehrly@ps7.org

 

Kari Wehrly began her career in education as a Teach for America corps member teaching 6th grade math in the rural region of Wahiawa, Hawaii. In her first year of teaching she led 78% of her students to score proficient or advanced on the Hawaii State Assessment compared to her schools highest historical achievement of 55% and the districts highest of 72%. Kari then went on to work with the Complex Area Superintendent as a district instructional coach focused on supporting principals in implementing data informed instruction, providing instructional support to the districts neediest teachers and developing the first ever complex area plan aimed to develop every teacher into a highly effective instructor. Kari spent a summer as a Cops Member Advisor for Teach For America where she implemented a rigorous training plan for twelve beginning teachers, developed and delivered curriculum sessions, conducted daily observations and provided teachers with critical feedback to improve their effectivess in the classroom. Kari initially joined St. Hope as a 6th grade math teacher and grade level chair.

 

Elisha Ferguson
Interim Vice Principal
eferguson@sthopepublicschools.org

 

Elisha was born and raised in Northern California, where she then graduated with degrees in both Liberal Studies and Political Science with a concentration in History from California State University, Stanislaus. In 2011, she began her career with Teach For America as a charter corps member in South Carolina. After her TFA commitment, she transitioned to St. Louis, Missouri, where she was the Founding Special Education Teacher for EAGLE College Prep – St. Louis. After her first year, she was promoted to Dean of Students/Student Supports, which then transitioned into taking upon the entire Special Education program as the Special Education Director for all of the EAGLE schools in St. Louis. With EAGLE, she was able to support and found three different campuses in the South St. Louis area. She was named to the Special Education Advisory Board for the state of Missouri, where she was able to be a voice for Charter School Special Education programs. Elisha joined the St. HOPE team in 2016.

Akele Newton
Dean of Culture and Operations
anewton@ps7.org

 

Akele Newton is from Oakland, California. She attended Stony Brook University for undergrad and received her Masters from Long Island University. Akele has been working in education for 9 years and this is her first year with St. HOPE. When she’s not at work, Akele enjoys spending time with her three daughters.

Post

Support Staff

Marguerite Cague
Office Manager
macague@ps7.org

 

Ms. Marguerite is originally from Redwood City, CA where she attended college at Canada College. She’s been working at PS7 for 10 years and her favorite artists are Monet & Milton Bowens.

Denise Caballero
Office Assistant
dcaballero@ps7.org

 

Ms. Caballero is from Sacramento and attended Sacramento City College. She is the support staff at PS7 and enjoys working diligently to mold children into adults.

 

Post

TK-2nd Grade Teachers

Jody Hill
Transitional Kindergarten Teacher
jhill@ps7.org

 

Ms. Hill is from Elk Grove and graduated from Sac State. She has been teaching for 9 years and loves Mexican food!

Patricia Burks
Kindergarten Teacher
pburks@ps7.org

 

Ms. Burks is originally from Lexington, Kentucky and went to college at CSUS, ASU, and UCD. She has been a teacher for over 10 years and her favorite artist is Milton Bowens.

 

Jenelle Yerkes
Kindergarten Teacher
jyerkes@ps7.org

 

Ms. Yerkes is originally from Trinidad, CA and attended college at Sacramento State. Her favorite artist is Erykah Badu.

Audria Johnson
1st Grade Teacher
ajohnson@ps7.org

 

Ms. Johnson is originally from Atlanta, GA and received her BA from Oglethorpe University and her Masters at Sac state. She has been teaching for 16 years and her favorite movie is My Cousin Vinny.

 

Moriah Haworth
1st Grade Teacher
mhaworth@ps7.org

 

Ms. Haworth is from Sacramento and attended the University of Louisville in Kentucky. She is in her second year of teaching and when she is not at St. HOPE she is training for a half marathon with her coworkers, watching her favorite TV shows, camping, hiking, or exploring.

Kimberly Moses
2nd Grade Teacher
kmoses@ps7.org

 

Ms. Moses is from Sacramento and graduated from Howard University. She is going into her 5th year of teaching and loves carne asada street tacos.

Megan Imre
Education Specialist (K-3rd)
mimre@ps7.org

 

Ms. Imre is from Southern California and attended college at Northern Arizona University. She’s in her 4th year of teaching and the Spider Caves is the most interesting place she’s visited.

Post

3rd-5th Grade Teachers

 
Erica Talbott 
3rd Grade Teacher 
etalbott@ps7.org

 

Ms. Talbott is from New Jersey and graduated from Fordham University. This is her third year with St. HOPE and when she’s not working she is exploring the outdoors and looking for good music!

 

Joy Smith
3rd Grade Teacher
jsmith@ps7.org

 

Ms. Smith is from Los Angeles and attended UC Riverside for her B.A. and UP for her M.A. She is in her second year of teaching and when she is not at work she enjoys eating and taking dance classes.

Megan Huerbin
4th Grade Teacher
mhuerbin@ps7.org

 

Ms. Huerbin is from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania where she also attended college at the University of Pittsburgh. She has been teaching for 5 years and loves running and experiencing new places.

 

Megan Weitekamp
4th Grade Teacher
mweitekamp@sthopepublicschools.org

 

Brett Wilson
5th Grade Teacher
bwilson@ps7.org

 

Mr. Wilson is originally from Cincinnati, OH and attended Capital University. He has been teaching for 2 years and South Africa is the most interesting place he has visited thus far.

Stacy Cissney
5th Grade Teacher
scissney@ps7.org

 

Ms. Cissney is from Pleasant Hill, CA and received her B.A. from Chico State and her M.A. from St. Mary’s College. She’s been teaching for 14 years and The Sandlot is her favorite movie.

John Pichon
P.E. Teacher
jpichon@ps7.org

 

Mr. Pichon is from Sidell, Louisiana and attended MC Neese State for college. He has been a teacher for 3 years and loves to eat seafood, especially raw oysters and crawfish.

 

Jeanette Rowe
Technology Teacher
jrowe@ps7.org

 

Ms. Rowe is from Sacramento and graduated from Cal State Stanislaus. She is in her third year of teaching and enjoys running, listening to music, and reading when she is away from the school. 

Camille Javier
Education Specialist (4th & 5th)
cjavier@ps7.org

 

Ms. Javier was born and raised in the Philippines where she also attended college at the University of Santo Tomas. She has been teaching for 4 years and her favorite food is seafood.